Nigeria Exempted from UK Travel Ban

Nigeria has been exempted from a list of countries which the United Kingdom placed a travel ban on as part of measures to curb the spread of COVID-19.

This is according to a statement on the website of the British government titled, “Coronavirus restrictions on travel and transport to England.”

The statement updated on January 22 outlined 30 countries banned form entry into the UK.

The countries include Angola, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ecuador and Eswatini.

Others include French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, and Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores).

Seychelles, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Uruguay, Venezuela Zambia, Zimbabwe were also included in the list.null

The statement promised that travellers without proof of a COVID-19 test will be fined £500.

The statement read, “You must have valid proof of a negative coronavirus test to travel to England. You must take the test in the 3 days before you start your journey.

“You will need to present proof of your negative test before you board to travel to England.

“If you don’t present proof of a negative test result certificate, you may not be able to board your transport to England.

“You could be fined £500 when you arrive at the border if you cannot provide proof that you have had a negative coronavirus test.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s