Buhari Nominates Buratai, Other Former Service Chiefs as Ambassadors

Nigeria president Muhammadu Buhari has nominated immediate past service chiefs of the country as ambassadors.

“President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past Service Chiefs to the Senate as non-career Ambassadors-Designate,” presidential aide Bashir Ahmad disclosed in a tweet.

The ambassador-designates are retired Defense Chief Abayomi Olonisakin, former Army Chief Tukur Buratai, former Navy Chief Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas and former Air Chief Sadique Abubakar. Their nomination is subject to confirmation by the National Assembly.

The former service chief’s nomination comes nine days after Buhari replaced them– having spearheaded the country’s security agencies for over five years.

Buhari appointed Chief Maj Gen LEO Irabor to replace Olonisakin in Defense, Maj Gen I Attahiru replace Buratai in the Army, Rear Adm AZ Gambo replaced Ekwe Ibas in Navy and AVM IO Alao replaced Abubakar to lead the Nigeria Air Force.

While many critics rated the former service chiefs low in the state of security in Nigeria, Buhari said they had an “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country.”

“The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities,” presidential spokesman Femi Adesina said in a statement announcing the appointment of the new service chiefs.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s